for a new or renewal License to Carry Firearms or Firearms Identification
All firearms license
applications require an appointment so that data may be electronically
entered into the Massachusetts Instant Record Check System.
“A State Approved Firearm
Safety Course” is required if…
You are a “first time”
applicant (applicant who has never had a license to carry or FID card
Your LTC or FID was not valid
on or after 10/21/98.
If you currently only have an
FID and are applying for a LTC.
Check local sporting goods
stores and/or “Rod and Gun” clubs for information on these courses.
Applicants will no longer need
to provide their own photographs or completed application forms. They need
only bring a check or money order (“Town of Duxbury”) for the $100 filing
fee and a form of photo identification. The filing fee is waived for
persons over 70 years of age and for those renewing a Class D (Mace/Pepper
Spray) Firearms Identification Card.
Overview of the licensing
aspects of the State's firearms law
1. All current Licenses
To Carry firearms are valid and renewable on the expiration date shown on
such licenses. Thereafter, they will be renewable every Six years.
2. Categories of
Licenses To Carry Firearms are :
Class A - Allows
the holder to possess large capacity firearms, rifles, shotguns and
ammunition. Only Class A holders may carry a concealed weapon in public.
Class B - Allows
the holder to possess non-large capacity firearms (handguns) as well as
large capacity rifles, shotguns and ammunition. Class B holders MAY NOT
carry a concealed weapon in public.
3. Categories of
Firearms Identification Cards are :
Class C - Allows
the holder to possess non-large capacity rifles, shotguns and ammunition.
Weapons must be transported unloaded and in locked trunk or otherwise
encased in a locked/secured container.
Class D - For
possession of chemical spray only.
Older FID cards with
"Indefinite" expiration dates are no longer valid.
4. Properly licensed
shooting clubs may have both large and non-large capacity firearms, rifles
and shotguns for use by their members and guests.
5. A non-refundable
application fee of $100.00 will apply to all Licenses To Carry and
Firearms Identification card applications and renewals, with the following
There is no fee for a
person age 70 or over.
The first time application
fee for an FID Card restricted to Chemical Agents (Class D) is $25.00
There is no fee to RENEW an
FID Card that is restricted to Chemical Agents only (Class D.)
Massachusetts amended Chapter 140 (Firearms Laws) by adding Section 131L.
Section 131L makes it unlawful to store or
keep any firearm, shotgun or other weapon "in any place" without ensuring
first that the weapon is secured in :
locked container, or
Secured with a tamper resistant mechanical lock or other safety device
The safety device must render the weapon
inoperable by any person other than the owner or other authorized user.
Violations of this section of law are
punishable as follows :
Firearm, rifle or shotgun (non large
capacity) - Fine of not less than
$5000 or by imprisonment for not more than one year.
Large Capacity weapon or machine gun
- Fine of not less than $1000 nor more than
$10,000 or by imprisonment for not less than one year nor more than ten
years or by both such fine and imprisonment.
Additional penalties are provided for unlawful
storage of weapons when they are kept where individuals under the age of
eighteen might gain access and who do not possess a valid Firearms
Identification Card. This section carries up to ten years imprisonment.
Failure to properly secure the weapon in the manner provided by statute
shall constitute evidence of wanton or reckless conduct in any civil or
to making an appointment please fill out the application for FID this will
speed up the process.
Click her for license to carry application form.
Change of address form.
Once you have read the new firearm laws you may call (781) 934-5656 ext.
to arrange for an appointment with Firearms Licensing Officer, Sergeant